Home > Uncategorized > Time to remember my teachers….

Time to remember my teachers….

September 5, 2006 Leave a comment Go to comments

Teachers mold the lives that they influence. Lessons learned from teachers remain with their students throughout life.  Teachers that break down barriers and reach into the souls of the students that they are responsible for do not get the recognition or gratitude they have earned. Many teachers are exhausted from their workload and responsibilities.  They have their own families, financial and life stresses that challenge them along with everyone else. They are like candles who consume themselves to light the way for others. They deserve our respect and our appreciation.

 Happy Teachers' Day

I remember some of my best teachers calling themselves ‘learners’ too. Moreso, they are like catalysts who, not with their teaching, but with the power of the Divine enabled learning among their students. For me, teachers hold a place jus’ next to my parents for it is they who have made me what I am. I would risk myself repeating this but, deep down, I have all my gratitude for those wonderful teachers.

The mediocre teacher tells. The good teacher explains. The superior teacher demonstrates. The great teacher inspires. And while I would like to name each of those who inspired me, I will be invidious by singling out… Ms. Elfrida Dhanraj, Mr. Francis, Ms. Vijay Laxmi, Mr. Ram Mohan Rao (all from High School) and Prof. R K Srivastava (Rocky), Prof. Yogesh Agarwal, Prof. Neerja Pandey (all from IIM Lucknow).

Cheers!!!

  1. September 5, 2006 at 7:17 pm

    Hey nice post..

    Good to know you chori-chori-ed it from a school essay you had written ages back..:P

    But ha..teachers have had an influence in making us what we are today…

    I specially liked the part: “The mediocre teacher tells. The good teacher explains. The superior teacher demonstrates. The great teacher inspires.”

    Keep Posting Ganda Baccha

  2. September 5, 2006 at 7:19 pm

    @ Gandi Bacchi

    Learning from best practices isn’t stealing… and moreso wen itz from one’s own.

    Neways, yea… my teachers know dat they haven’t made me a ganda baccha like ya think! So, ya’d betta reform urself…. like MO did!

  3. sanjaydhir
    November 24, 2009 at 9:53 pm

    IIML teachers especially whom u mentioned are the best………..not to forget Dr Payal Mehra, Dr Kaushik Bhattacharya and Dr Amita Mittal

    • March 8, 2010 at 10:00 pm

      @ Sanjaydhir, those seem to be new professors… who joined after my graduation. Nevertheless, it is actually the few favorite teachers who kinda attract me to the campus. I was there for Manfest earlier this year 🙂

  4. Taj Hussain
    February 21, 2012 at 8:18 pm

    Your High School teachers tells me that you are from All Saints High School. What year did you pass out? Mrs Elfrida Dhanraj was truly inspirational. She did change my life too….

    • February 22, 2012 at 11:53 pm

      @ Taj Hussain, it’s indeed a small world! I did most of my schooling from All Saints moving out after class 8 to go to Little Flower. I was part of the class that finished high school in 1997. When did you finish high school? I have no clue where these teachers are except for Mr. Francis who I got to meet when I visited school a couple of years back. Do you know where Ms. Dhanraj is these days?

      • Taj Hussain
        November 20, 2013 at 9:29 pm

        I passed out from ASHS in 1992. Mrs. Elfrida Dhanraj has migrated to Auckland, New zealand and is currently inspiring students at Tamaki Intermediate School.

        Found the following link today: God bless her:

      • November 20, 2013 at 10:45 pm

        @Taj Hussain

        Thanks for sharing her coordinates. She is definitely amongst the most memorable teachers from my time at ASHS.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

