Home > Uncategorized > Google bombs…

Google bombs…

September 29, 2006 Leave a comment Go to comments

Google and Weblogs seem inextricably tied together, as link-rich blogs are increasingly influencing the algorithms of Google’s search engine. But with great power comes great responsibility… and the weblog community is only now beginning to come to terms with a new application that subverts the very technology that powers Google, the world’s favorite search engine. Yea, am toking of the Google Bomb…

What’s a Google Bomb?
“Google Bombs” are collective efforts to link to a site by a key phrase and artificially elevate a Web site in the Google search results for that search phrase. Google bombs rely heavily on the influence of PageRank.

I was amazed @ the amount of work done on this… from the “miserable failure” phrase pointing to George Bush’s biography and to less powerful bombs. But, with my naivety in these matters, I set out to look for my “page rank” on Google. And here is wat I found…

Search Phrase: Moid Renditions (My blog link as the 1st result on the search page – yuppieeeeeee!!!)

Search Phrase: Moid (My blog link as the 6th result on the search page)

Search Phrase: Moid Mohammed (My blog link as the 5th result, me in the IIML news as the 6th result and me in the IIML graduating list as the 7th result)

Search Phrase: Immortal Storm Renditions (My blog link as the 1st, 2nd and 3rd result on the search page… am improving)

Anyways, here’s a snapshot of one google search…. a self-promotion exercise (hehehe)

Circadian Rhythms - Renditions of Moid, the immortal storm

  1. September 29, 2006 at 12:15 pm

    I am still to come to terms with the fact that people actually make millions just by websites ads! Internet has grown in a strange way and thigs like google bombs are now concepts. Ah these devils, they don’t leave anything pure 😛

  2. September 29, 2006 at 12:48 pm

    @ Sharique

    Guess ya gotta wait for a few more years before ya see me on the Forbes’ list (LOL). BTW ur blog doesn’t speak much about ya 🙂 d(c)are to unravel urself

  3. September 30, 2006 at 8:22 am

    what do you wanna know about be 😛 I had to remove about me page after lot of people were dropping by..its always good to stay anon in this internet 🙂
    BTW i am at IIT Madras, final yr student

  4. September 30, 2006 at 8:40 am

    @ Sharique

    ahan IITM… not bad @ all. But, wat brought ya to my blog? And BTW ya must b knowing Arslan, rite?

  5. September 30, 2006 at 3:20 pm

    Yes i know Arsalan and also Hidayath, IITB. Ah, you ask so many questions :P..i came through the list of IM bloggers on http://indianmuslims.in
    I write for that blog btw.

  6. September 30, 2006 at 4:33 pm

    yea, itz pretty obvious… @ work, consultants spend all the time inventing answers to clients’ questions…. so here is where I get to sit on the other end 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

