Home > Uncategorized > One prized possession lost…

One prized possession lost…

January 28, 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

Wooooh…. cudn’t imagine myself being off my blog for more than 2 weeks but yea, it all happened. And as I rewind into those days as far as I can, I seem to have lived my complete life in all these days – with good and bad things in proportionate measure.

But, then someone somewhere up there was wanting to shake me all up… a reality check! And when things seemed to be going good with enough excitement on the job as also frequent traveling… and me also enjoying the angelic company, January 9 happened. Traveling from a meeting to my home, I stopped on the way to visit a Nokia store in South Extension.

While I was away, my driver got distracted ‘mysteriously’ and my laptop bag got stolen. Jus’ cudn’t believe that…. 10minutes can change so much for me. I lost my laptop and all the data, my passport, other personal documents and some confidential client documents. I can still recount the first few moments after realizing the loss – was in a rude shock and didn’t know wat to do.

With the driver being an elderly man, I couldn’t even vent my anger on him. After all, I couldn’t get my things by doing anything like that. Running to the police check post there, I got them to the scene and then after 15min of recreating the crime scene and also doing some preliminary questioning from other people nearby, I was directed to a particular cop at the police station for lodging an FIR.

Reaching the station, the cop in question refused to acknowledge receiving a call from the check post. And then, started the rounds of proving that the case was to be filed in some other jurisdictory police station. I got really bugged with all this and I barged into the SHO’s office. After some requesting followed by ‘threats’ to inform the seniors in the government, he agreed to lodge my FIR.

All this while, I had a very colleague who had come to help me – it being my first visit to the police station. Sitting in the record room, I was recounting the incident and my frend stopped me – “He ain’t understanding any bit of ur english, speak in hindi dude” (LOL). Eventually, I realized the english competencies of the cop wen he took close to 3-4 minutes (trust me, it took him this much time) to read the first line of my FIR incident description.

Done with the FIR thing, I reached bak to my place… not knowing how to react. I didn’t want to inform my parents but then as the daily routine is, my mom called up… and aaawwww she jus’ heard my voice and was sure that all was not well. Eventually, I told her all bout the evening and she was so comforting. How much I thank the Almighty for gifting me such amazing parents is less… by all means for my mom n dad (the world’s best parents undoubtedly) even offered to travel to Delhi to be with me – realizing how down I was.

But, just a simple conversation with Dad gave me the confidence I needed to face the morrow. The next day, I was out to the police station to take my FIR and then also a series of other steps followed. Filing complaint in office regarding loss of laptop and then the procedures for the new passport et al.

This additional work also saw me visiting Hyderabad for a day to submit my application for my new passport. Meanwhile, work was going on at its own pace…. just refuses to give me a reprieve.

And now, with me sitting 25 days later, recounting every bit of it, I see a lot has happened… on this front. Now, I feel like getting bak on track – with my new passport reaching me, my new laptop with me and so also other documents. But, then it was an interesting experience – made me realize how vulnerable I was. But, at the same time, it contributed to reaffirming the relationships I share with people in my life.

“Good judgment comes from experience; and experience comes from poor judgment!”

So, all this has made me much more wiser and much more… worldly.

  1. February 1, 2007 at 7:47 pm

    Iam glad you are ok now…Thanks to ‘The Angel!’ 😉
    And hey!! My email got hacked too last year, one I had been using since class 6th (the time I began using the net)…and I know exactly how the experience must’ve been for you.
    Tc now…look ahead ~hugs~

  2. February 2, 2007 at 5:37 am

    @ Clueless

    thnx swthrt… for the generosity of your words n actions >:D

  3. February 2, 2007 at 9:27 am

    Awww..ya that was really a bad experience…u told me all abt it..but still ..jus remember..whatever happens happens for your best!! 🙂

  4. February 3, 2007 at 5:50 am

    @ Fargz

    Wow with pals like ya arnd, am always gonna be njoying life with full fervor

  5. February 3, 2007 at 6:12 pm

    Anytime for you dear! 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

