Home > Uncategorized > Wah Taj??

Wah Taj??

Having seen so many people, newspapers, websites blaring around… asking people to vote for the Taj Mahal. Until now, I’d never reacted to all this thinking that it was just some website doing a poll… with no authenticity or authority to change the seven wonders of the world.

However, on persistent attention seeking gimmicks of many, I did some background research and formed my own conclusions about this issue. A little while later, I saw Arslan voicing exactly the same thoughts going on in my mind. So, using the concept of “replicating best practices”, I am reusing the same content for my post (Arslan, I hope u don’t have a copyright reserved)

Is it the beginning of the end of an era?

Why should I vote for Taj?

You must have come across it several times by now. You probably also did what it said. Yes, I’m talking about the massive Vote for Taj campaign. Every news channel, every newspaper, some celebrities and one minister have been exhorting the public to vote for the Taj.

Why? Why should I vote for the Taj? Just because it is the only Indian entry in the list (who’s list is it anyway? not UNESCO’s for sure) why should I vote for it? ‘Because you are an Indian’ comes the exasperated reply. So just because I’m an Indian, should I ignore the history and ‘wonder’fulness of the other wonders on the list. Is this how I should show my loyalty? Is this how it will be judged? Would voting for some others on the list demonstrate patriotic perfidy?

Now think what happens when all Indians are made to feel this way (thats what the adverts are trying to do). From the absurd popularity contest it was meant to be, it turns out to be an even more absurd loyalty contest. Going by the sheer numbers of Indians with access to the internet, and our penchant to fall for such gimmicks (really, the more gimmicky the gimmick, the more of us fall for it), it will not be a surprise to see the Taj surging ahead irrespective of its merits. And can’t you just picture the headlines when this happens. ‘Wah TAJ’ would scream one, ‘TAJ best’ would exclaim another. But thats not what the result would prove at all. What it would really prove is 1) there are lots of Indians, 2) many of them have Internet access, 3) most of them would fall for gimmicky demonstrations of patriotism.

So hurry, vote for TAJ now!

  1. July 6, 2007 at 8:38 am

    I really have no solid proof to backup my claim but I confidently recall that “Taj Mahal” was included in the list of “seven wonders” in my school textbooks. Also, the much hyped song “Ajooba/Adisayam” in Shankar’s Jeans which was shot at each of the “seven wonders” also included the Taj.

    Not until recently, I believed that it was already a part of the list. Power of Propaganda beats everything 🙂

  2. July 6, 2007 at 9:40 am

    @ Shujath

    Absolutely, it also is very vivid in my mind of this being the seven wonders. But, perhaps, the latest buzz that has started this gimmick is that… they are revising the list now [LOL]

  3. July 6, 2007 at 5:10 pm

    @Moid

    Copyrights not reserved.. Yet.
    A link to my blog would be nice 🙂

  4. July 6, 2007 at 9:53 pm

    @ Arslan

    The link was already there… on ur post title 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

