Home > Uncategorized > Forgetting to write – Is technology to blame??

Forgetting to write – Is technology to blame??

September 6, 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

I forgot to write!!!During a client meeting the other day, deviating from the normal routine of typing it out, I decided that I needed to take some notes. My memory isn’t the world’s best, so if I think there is something worth “memorializing“, I will take notes.

Often, I end up just using my laptop… since I can type pretty fast –> almost 85 words a minute. Then when I’m done, I have a permanent, indexable record of the meeting. I’ve been doing this for so long, I can pretty much type as fast as I think.

This particular meeting, like many meetings in the recent past, for some reason, I cudnt go the digital route so I ended up retracing my path to the 1900s and got to handwrite my notes.

What a disaster. I couldn’t write!

I literally cudnt take notes fast enuf coz as I wrote and as I spoke, I realized I couldn’t read my own writing. Not only cud I not read my own writing, when I tried to slow down so that everything would be legible, I realized that actually writing each letter as part of a complete word was actually difficult…

I had forgotten how to write. Sure I cud fight it out by going slowly… actually very slowly. But any skills I had that used to enable me to write swiftly what I was hearing or what my thoughts were, had left me.

Now comes the barrage of questions…

Am I alone? Or shud I start a self-help group if there are any takers? Or better shud I take a class with the preparatory school students to relearn???

Is writing with a pen on a pad of paper not like riding a bike??

  1. Abdulqavi
    September 6, 2007 at 8:02 pm

    I m with you and I can type as fast s you do and at the same time write more horribly than you..

  2. Nisha
    September 7, 2007 at 4:57 am

    hmm…m pretty much on the same boat as u….infact not only do i forget to write the complete word (am gettin too used to chat abbrev.,use them even while writing exams)bt hv also strted findin the script alien!!!!

  3. September 7, 2007 at 12:09 pm

    @ Abdul Qavi and Nisha

    wow… so I have 2 registrants for my self-help group oredi!!

    It feels so gud to realize that I’m not the only one on this boat 🙂

  4. Salman
    September 13, 2007 at 6:20 am

    Well, u’re not alone Moid!!!! u’ve just got ur 3 registrant…:)
    Oh GOD!!! I couldn’t sign my Appraisal letter and some other legal docs…All my signatures are different…My hand stopped, wouldn’t progress furhter…Glad that i’m not alone

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

