Home > Uncategorized > Nine-Eleven

Nine-Eleven

September 11, 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’ve never been comfortable addressing 9/11 as ‘9-11’. I’m not sure why this is although am not usually big on slash marks. Yet something about the hyphenated version of 9/11 has always bothered me. The only time I ever hyphenate the ‘9’ and ’11’ in 9/11 is when I gotta save a file on my computer since the other commonly used version is 911 for SOS. Windows won’t let you use slashes when you’re naming your files.

the nine-eleven story

My favorite way of writing 9/11 actually involves no numbers whatsoever. If I had it my way, everyone would call 9/11 “Nine-Eleven.” I first came up with this variation several years ago when my professor in a communications class once taught me never to start a sentence with a number. I was writing one of my articles and really wanted to start a sentence with “9/11,” which, for some poetic reason or another, sounded better or seemed more appropriate than starting the sentence with “September 11th.” So I decided to compromise. I spelled out the numbers, and Nine-Eleven was born.

I like Nine-Eleven. But I’ve never seen anyone else use it until today when nidz got using it.

And when we look @ this day, there are 2 other competitors for the grabs – hallmark cards and the government who have tried pushing the phrase “Patriot Day” but it was a big debacle. We tend to often call it 9/11 because it felt like an emergency. We’re never going to call it anything different. Maybe Or maybe it would work if Nine-Eleven had happened on Nine-Twelve. I’ve gone through a lot of different preferences on this issue over the years. Sometimes my political view on the whole 9/11 issue changes or other times with watching all the gory scenes of violence n destruction, I end up changing the way I write it.

However, in the race to keep ourselves alive in this big bad world, we tend to forget all the nuances concerning this…. so no looking back now!!!

  1. Sohail
    September 11, 2007 at 11:57 am

    Moid, you have something on every topic. Is there anything that you don’t have a view on or you don’t know of? I am amazed with your skills. Keep it up.

  2. 9-11 wizard
    September 11, 2007 at 4:03 pm

    This article on nine-eleven is stunning. This is like your concept of //\\out of the box//\\. Yaaar, tu aata first global popularity list mein agar tu jaata. Good work, pundit blogger.

  3. September 15, 2007 at 8:30 am

    @ Sohail

    Thanks frend… simple acknowledgment goes a long way in prodding me to continue blogging!

  4. September 15, 2007 at 8:31 am

    @ 9-11 wizard

    You seem to be more impacted with this article so much so dat u changed ur name 🙂 Yea, everyone associated 9-11 with all sortta of negative things… thought I’d take a different view to the whole thing!

  1. March 21, 2010 at 12:10 pm

Leave a Reply

