Home > Academics, Career, Life at Columbia > New York reporting…

New York reporting…

Exactly 3 months ago, I was in a different state of mind… with the American Dream looking like a distant vision and no signs of it turning to reality. And then, a couple of weeks later… things took a new turn (to my pleasant surprise).

Within 10 days, I had to wrap up my work, pack up everything in Dubai (this pack up was faster than the ones on the movie sets in Om Shanti Om). And 2 weeks later, I was on a Swiss Air flight heading to New York. Landing in NYC was like a dream come true… just that we never cease to dream. Anyways, fast tracking a few more weeks… you wouldn’t wanna be reading my biography… I started my eagerly awaited MBA program.

 

 

 

And now, it is October 1… and this is what I have to say about my stint in business school…

1. Orientation program… led by a wonderfully awesome team of second year peer advisors was by far the best and most memorable time in business school. No program could have started with anything better than this. I became part of the Cluster H… a cluster that has gone on to build an unbeatable reputation for being the most fun cluster and the cluster with the maximum impact and presence on campus. H-call… I heard you say H H H H….

2. The NYC advantage… cannot say enough about this. I thought it was all good for the applications and it did indeed get me into CBS but then, I realized that it is not just a forced affiliation… it is absolutely at the heart of what CBS is… in many ways. If I have to think about what to do beyond school, there is the whole city of New York and not to forget the surrounding New Jersey that has anything and everything I can think of. When my classmates want to party, there is the whole universally envious night life NYC has to offer… When I want to do some community activities, there is this playground of society around me offering me plenty of opportunities to do so. If I want to learn something from the industry, there is this vast resource pool of alumni, faculty, executives-in-residence who are spread in and around the school and are willing to do all they can without any hesitation. And since I am with family, there is everything available for my partner to keep herself busy.

3. The Columbia University… I thought it was all good on paper to know that there is the complete famed university and its resources that are available to me for use anytime. But within a couple of months, I am already networking with loads of students from the schools of journalism, law, international & public affairs. And right now, am working on an advisory project for the Government of Congo with the Columbia Law School and The Carter Center.

4. Student driven school…. everything here is as per students’ requirements right from how one wants to pursue academics, how one wants to structure the program, how one wants to invest their time during the program, how one wants to explore choices and make decisions. It is a case of… “build your own Columbia experience”!!!

Finally, I absolutely thank the Almighty for giving me sane wisdom to choose this school over other peer schools… and give me the confidence I need to pursue my career interests.

All that being said, there is always something challenging about business schools… not sure if it is something specific about Columbia:
– I am busier than in my past life… spending almost 16 hours a day on assignments, pre-class readings, case preparation, student activities.
– I am spoilt for choice… there are just so many things to do, events to attend that I am lucky to even be able to complete 20% of that.
– I am having to be competitive to keep up with the top of the pack… after all, everyone in class has a uniquely amazing background so your past doesn’t become your USP. One has to build a new USP at school.
– I have just no time to attend the happy hour and the after parties every week… it is a nightmare to see myself strolling to the library when I see most of the batch partying at the HH in Uris Deli.
– I reach the library thinking that my extra investment in studies while others party will make me more competitive… only to find the library jam packed as I walk in.

But, I ain’t complaining… after all, if I summarize these challenges… it would be, “THIS IS LIFE!!!”.

  1. Abdul Mujeeb
    October 12, 2010 at 5:25 pm

    Moid Bhai, its always a proud feeling to see an MJ Alumini at this level. God bless.

    • November 8, 2010 at 3:22 am

      @ Abdul Mujeeb: Thanks for your kind words. I owe a lot to MJ for where I am today! May the Almighty guide me to my goals and bless me with competence to give back to the community.

  2. November 17, 2010 at 2:57 am

    Ou, it’s good ))

  3. December 4, 2010 at 11:05 am

    That’s As well great, when it comes in india hope it could make a Rocking place for youngster.. hope that
    come true.

  1. October 3, 2010 at 5:42 am
  2. February 26, 2012 at 4:55 pm

Leave a Reply

