Home > Life at Columbia, Living > You know what I did this summer? (Part 2)

You know what I did this summer? (Part 2)

Continuing from the previous post….

I am sitting in my New York apartment eager to ride out Hurricane Irene. Everywhere in Manhattan, there seems to be utter panic. One supermarket had this displayed: “We have water available even now”.

Anyways, rewinding to where I left in my first recount, I completed my client study in Florida in the first week of August and then quickly started another client study the next week. On the side, I also observed fast it being the Islamic month of Ramadan. However, my stint was made easier with the client being closer home in New Jersey (15min drive from New York city). Client from a new industry (consumer goods), this was a short study but very high visibility… direct work with the senior client leadership (CEO and downwards) on a daily basis. This study gave me a great opportunity to work on my client communication and client relationship building skills.

On the personal front, had some great milestones (wife’s birthday and wedding anniversary) that rounded off with me finishing my internship on a high note…
Client satisfaction. Check.
Team appreciation. Check.
Study completion. Check.
Return job offer. Check.

So, now am back into the school mode with a great relief of not having any recruiting pressures. I feel that I can put a lot of emphasis on extending my learning in the second year and also build my skill set. Also, this gives me a huge opportunity to focus on things beyond academics and recruiting.

Zooming into the next 2 weeks before I start classes, have plans to stay home to celebrate Eid with family here in New York following which I will round off my summer with a short trip to Chicago to meet my brother and his family. And then back in action… after possibly the most memorable summer in a long time!!!!

  1. Rachita
    September 17, 2011 at 2:25 am

    Hi Moid.I came across your profile when I was searching for some details on second MBA. People are amazed when I talk about second MBA. I need some suggestion on the same.Could you please help me with an e-mail address where I can write to you and discuss on the second MBA part.
    I have been struggling a lot to talk regarding second MBA TO SOMEONE.
    My e-mail address is rachitavig@ymail.com.

    Thanks
    🙂

    • September 17, 2011 at 8:04 pm

      @ Rachita,

      I hear you… just a couple of years ago, I have also been in the same boat 🙂 Will send out my email address separately.

  1. March 17, 2012 at 8:54 am

Leave a Reply

