Home > Career, Living > World-changing men don’t change diapers??

World-changing men don’t change diapers??

I just happened to come across a Forbes article with the same title (article link).

While it is such a shame that influential men who made it to Time 100 didn’t talk about their “other” role or didn’t feel important, this article also brought to my mind a more important issue… How should working dads balance their professional and personal roles better?

I am a proud father of a 15-month old and am embarking on a consulting career. The onus is on me to create my own professional life which provides me a good work-life balance. There is no cookie-cutter approach whereby I could talk to a few colleagues and then pin down on one colleague’s approach as mine. Circumstances are very case-based. And with changing circumstances comes changing priorities. I have realized that it is important to prioritize and then set appropriate expectations both at work and at home. This way, you keep both parties happy!

As for a working dad’s role at home, if the mom is also working, parenting has to be shared “equally”. Even if the mother is not working, I see huge joy of parenting in parenting teaming up and spending time with the kid(s). For example, I could see one parent cooking while the other helping with feeding the kid. Or one parent giving the kid a bath while the other preparing the clothes and other stuff for the kid. And it is important for both parents to jointly spend significant time with the kid and help with learning/ playing. At the end of the day, kids draw on their life lessons from parents’ actions.

Talking about parents’ actions… it was just yesterday when on our drive back to the hotel after visiting a friend’s parents, me and my wife were talking about how gracious and courteous my friend’s parents were and that their nature/ character very clearly showed up in their son. And in the same vein, my wife mentioned being at the airport in Riyadh and seeing a Saudi family with 4 children… who were so well-mannered that when my kid went towards those kids, they were so gentle and caring. Just goes on to show, how the parents behave with them at home and how they act with others. And just to drive home the point, I personally learnt a lot from seeing my dad help mom with household chores every weekend he was home… and in a way, I have tried to emulate that with my wife.

At least I wanna be one world-changing man who is proud to have changed the diapers also!

  1. September 9, 2013 at 2:33 pm

    For a taste oof Sydney’s best in the nightclub scene head to Hugo’s Lounge (with your dancin’ shoes on).
    For those not in the know, here are the main nightclubs.
    Is yours one of the upscale New York nightclubs or one that is gritty like the streets
    of Detroit-if so are you ready for the race.

  2. September 13, 2013 at 2:14 pm

    you are inn reality a just right webmaster.
    The website loadng velocity is amazing. It sort of feels that
    you are doing any distinctive trick. In addition, The contents are masterpiece.
    you have done a excellent task on this subject!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

